Work Zone Safety Tips

Work Zone Safety Tips

Being Safe in The Work Zone

April 7, 2014 to April 11, 2014 is national work zone safety awareness week. I am providing you with some helpful information to make your travels safe while going through work zones. By driving safely in work zones, motorists can help make sure everyone arrives home safely. It is your job to pay attention in work zones, not only for your personal safety, but for the safety of others around you.

Work Zone Signs

Tips for Driving in Work Zones

  1. Expect the Unexpected. Change is possible overnight where normal speed limits can get reduced, lane closures, narrowed or shifted lanes. Workers, work vehicles, or equipment may enter your lane without warning. Other vehicles may slow, stop, or change lanes unexpectedly.
  2. Don’t Speed. Obey the posted speed limit signs at all times, even when there are workers not present.
  3.  Never Tailgate. Be sure to keep a safe distance behind the car ahead of you, the construction workers, and their equipment. Rear-end collisions account for 30% of crashes in work zones.
  4. Obey Road Crew Flaggers and Pay Attention to Signs. The workers know what is best for moving traffic in a work zone and the warning signs are there to help everyone move safely through the work zone.
  5. Stay Alert and Minimize Distractions. Be sure to dedicate your full attention to the road and avoid any distractions that may take your eyes off the road. Always watch others brake lights on the vehicles ahead of you and watch the traffic around you so you can be prepared to react.
  6.  Keep Up With The Traffic Flow. Never slow down to check out what road work is being done. This can easily cause traffic back-up or even a crash.
  7. Know Before You Go. Check radio stations, the TV, internet for traffic information; this will be sure to help you schedule enough time to not rush through work zones.
  8. Be Patient and Stay Calm. Work zones aren’t there to inconvenience you. Work zone crew members are working to improve the road and make your future drive better.
  9. Wear Your Seatbelt. It is your best defense in any crash.
  10.  Remember—Dads, moms, sons, daughters, brothers, and sisters work here!

If you are able to follow these work zone safety tips you will have a more pleasant driving experience in work zones and make it through safely. If these tips are disobeyed it can result in some serious fines and penalties. Below you will find a table that shows you most of the fines for each state.

State

Violations Affected

Enhanced Penalties

Workers Must Be Present

Signs Must Be Present

Alabama

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Alaska

All

Double original fine

Arizona

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Arkansas

All moving traffic violations

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

California

Various

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Colorado

All

Double original fine

Connecticut

All moving traffic violations

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Delaware

Various

At least double original fine (1st offense)

D.C.

All moving violations

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Florida

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Georgia

Speeding

$100-$2,000 and/or up to 12 months in jail

Either work zone personnel, or barriers, work vehicles or shoulder or pavement drop offs

Yes

Hawaii

Speeding

$250

Idaho

Speeding

$50

Yes

Illinois

Speeding

$375 (1st offense); $1,000 (subsequent offenses)

Yes

Indiana

Speeding

$300 (1st offense);
$500 (2nd offense); $1,000 (3rd offense within 3 years)

Yes

Iowa

All moving vehicle violations

Double original fine (up to $1,000)

Yes

Kansas

All moving vehicle violations

Double original fine

Yes

Kentucky

Speeding

Double original fine

Louisiana

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

Maine

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

Maryland

Speeding

Up to $1,000

Yes

Massachusetts

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

Michigan

All moving vehicle violations

Double original fine and at least 3 points

Yes

Minnesota

Speeding

Double original fine (minimum $25)

Yes

Yes

Mississippi

Speeding

Up to $250 (1st offense),
double original fine (subsequent offenses)

Yes

Yes

Missouri

Speeding or passing

Additional $250 (1st offense);
additional $300 (subsequent offenses)

Yes

Yes

Endangerment of a highway worker

Up to $10,000 fine and loss of license

Yes

Yes

Montana

All

Minimum double original fine

Yes

Yes

Nebraska

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Nevada

Various

Double original fine (up to $1,000), 6 months jail time, or 120 hrs. community service

Yes

Yes

New Hampshire

Speeding

$250-$500

Yes

Yes

New Jersey

All moving vehicle violations

Double original fine

Yes

New Mexico

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

New York

Speeding

$90-$600 or up to 30 days in jail, or both

Yes

North Carolina

Speeding

Additional $250 plus court costs

Yes

North Dakota

Speeding

Minimum $80

Yes

Yes

Ohio

Speeding

Double original fine

Must be during hours of actual work

Yes

Oklahoma

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Oregon

Various

Double original fine (few exceptions)

Pennsylvania

Various

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Rhode Island

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

South Carolina

Speeding

$75-$200 or up to 30 days jail, or both

Yes

South Dakota

Speeding

Double original fine (up to $500) or 30 days jail, or both

Yes

Yes

Tennessee

Speeding

$250-$500

Yes

Yes

Texas

All moving vehicle violations

Double original fine

Yes

Yes

Utah

Speeding

Minimum double original fine

Yes

Yes

Vermont

Speeding

Double original fine

Yes

Virgin Islands

Speeding

No data

Virginia

Speeding

Up to $500

Yes

Yes

Washington

Speeding

Double original fine

West Virginia

Speeding

Up to $200 or 20 days in jail, or both

Yes

Yes

Wisconsin

Various

Double original fine

Yes

Wyoming

None

Total States  

49 + D.C., Virgin Islands

24 + D.C.

41 + D.C.

 

About The Author
Chantal Dale is a writer for Safety Partners, Ltd.

There are no comments yet, but you can be the first



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.